Digital out-of-home (DOOH) media lets you serve media advertisements in public environments to engage audiences beyond online advertising. Expand your media mix to highly visible areas such as digital billboards, signage, and screens that appear in places of business.
You can consolidate and simplify your digital out-of-home work flow in Display & Video 360 to:
- Build and execute campaigns using automated executions and real-time bidding (RTB) to scale up or down.
- Efficiently reach publisher defined audiences in international markets.
On this page
- About digital out-of-home impressions
- Available digital out-of-home sellers
- Buy digital out-of-home inventory
- Assign digital out-of-home inventory to line items
- Reporting
- Considerations
- Frequently asked questions (FAQs)
About digital out-of-home impressions
Digital out-of-home publishers measure impressions by using an impression multiplier which uses a publisher-provided estimate for the number of viewers for each ad. The impression multiplier determines the publisher impressions and publisher cost per mile (CPM).
The publisher impressions are different from served impressions, which show the number of times an ad was shown on a screen. Since Display & Video 360 shows both publisher impressions and served impressions, make sure that you're looking at publisher impressions for digital out-of-home campaigns.
- Publisher impressions: The publisher’s estimated number of viewers per digital out of home ad.
Example
When an advertiser negotiates to buy an ad unit from a publisher for a billboard on Time Square, the publisher estimates that an average 500 people will see each impression.
To calculate using this estimate as the impression multiplier:
5 impressions x 500 impression multiplier = 2500 publisher impressions
- Publisher CPM: The cost per thousand impressions is calculated using the publisher impressions.
Example
If 5 served impressions (2500 publisher impressions) cost $25, the publisher CPM would be calculated as:
$25 / 2500 publisher impressions x 1000 = $10 publisher CPM
Available digital out-of-home inventory sellers
The following digital out-of-home inventory sellers are available on Display & Video 360.
| Exchange | Deal types supported | Creative formats |
| Perion (Hivestack) |
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| Magnite |
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| Place Exchange |
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| Ströer |
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| VIOOH |
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| Vistar | Non-Programmatic Guaranteed deals only |
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Buy digital out-of-home inventory
You can explore and negotiate a diverse range of digital out-of-home inventory by negotiating offline with the seller or exploring available digital out-of-home sellers on Marketplace.
Negotiating digital out-of-home deals offline with the seller
You can import DOOH deals you've negotiated offline into Display & Video 360 using their deal or order ID:
- Deal ID: A unique identifier generated by the exchange or inventory seller. Contact the seller if you don’t already know your deal ID.
Importing a deal lets you continue your workflow in your Display & Video 360 advertiser account, where you can accept your deal. To learn more about how to import a negotiation, go to Negotiate a deal.
Exchanges integrated through the seller API are able to automatically sync their deals and details to create an inventory source for you in Display & Video 360. Learn more About synced deals.
Using Programmatic Guaranteed deals
When using Programmatic Guaranteed deals, take note of the following:
- Currency budgets: Reservation insertion orders and line items use currency-based budgets, calculated at deal creation to include media cost and applicable fees. insertion order budgets sum up their child line item budgets.
- Budget sensitivity: Since budgets are fixed at creation, changes to the partner or advertiser-level revenue models or media fees after line item creation will not automatically update the line item budget. This could lead to under-delivery if fees increase. Over-delivery related to fee changes is covered by the Programmatic Guaranteed refund system.
- Targeting restrictions: Deals can only be targeted by their default reservation line item.
- Immutable setup: The default advertiser and media plan can’t be changed after configuration.
All digital out-of-home deals must be negotiated with the seller, who must push the deal to Display & Video 360 through the seller API. This ensures deals are validated by the Supply-Side Platform (SSP) or exchange before reaching buyers, improving campaign health, and activation speed. To learn more about how to import a negotiation, go to Negotiate a deal.
Buy digital out-of-home inventory through Marketplace
You can explore available digital out-of-home inventory through Marketplace. The available products vary per publisher. Digital out of home inventory are negotiated using publisher impressions and publisher CPMs.
You're charged the full cost of the programmatic guaranteed DOOH deal once the deal ends.
You can check the number of impressions served and compare it to the number of impressions you negotiated by generating a standard report 7 days after the deal end date.
If the deal underdelivers, you'll automatically get a refund for undelivered impressions within 7 days of the deal end date.
Assign digital out of home inventory to line items
You can assign your new inventory to your insertion orders and line items by choosing digital out of home as the insertion order or line item type.
Learn more about how to manage and assign your programmatic guaranteed deals on Manage your deals.
Reporting
To view metrics that include publisher impressions, you can use the predefined view for digital out of home. Alternatively, you can view publisher impressions by expanding the Delivery column.
To view digital out of home metrics for your campaigns:
- Go to Campaign.
- From the Predefined views, use the drop arrow to select Digital out of home.
You can also generate a standard report for your digital out of home campaigns using the following dimensions and metrics. For a full list, see dimensions and metrics.
- Dimensions:
- Advertiser
- Campaign
- Insertion order
- Line item
- Creative
- Date
- Metrics:
- Publisher impressions
- Publisher CPM
Considerations
Creatives
- You won’t be able to edit a creative: Once a creative has been assigned to an insertion order or line item, editing it would result in the publisher review becoming invalid. This can delay your ad delivery.
- Creative dimensions: For video line items, only use one dimension per line item per deal ID. Line items will still serve if this is not honored but there may be edge cases where the creative dimensions may be mismatched for a specific screen depending on the supplier.
- Creative restrictions: DOOH inventory can reach many people at once in public settings where sensitive content may need to be moderated. Our supply partners must adhere to local laws on what may be shown on various screens. Display & Video also categorizes creatives with sensitive labels. If your creative has been classified as sensitive and the line item is not bidding, it may be because it has been deemed to be too sensitive for DOOH. Even creatives with an ‘Approved’ status may not serve for DOOH if the creative has also flagged as sensitive for certain sensitive categories. Learn more about creative review
- Certain Display & Video 360 creatives are supported
- Supported: Only Display & Video 360 hosted creatives are supported. Static display images and standard videos are supported.
- Not supported: HTML5, dynamic, and other high impact formats for DOOH aren't supported. Campaign Manager 360 or third-party ad serving creatives aren't supported.
Delivery
- Ad delivery: May take an average of 24 hours to deliver
Targeting
- The availability of the following targeting methods varies depending on the seller. Work with the seller for details:
- Geo-targeting: Lets you to target based on location. Built-in geo-targeting in Display & Video 360 requires that the seller sends the correct IP address of the screen in the bid request.
- Day parting: Lets you enter a date and time range for your ad to display.
- Target only within the deal assignment: Additional targeting outside the deal assignment may result in delivery issues.
- Since geo-targeting is often based on IP addresses, some impressions may serve outside the targeted area. Sometimes the IP address passed by publishers often reflects their server's location and not the actual physical location of the DOOH screen.
- Users should monitor their geographic performance reports to measure the actual impression delivery. If the geography passed by the publisher mismatches the true screen location, reach out to the publisher to outline the need for correct geography to be passed.
Measurement
- The DOOH publishers with inventory available in Display & Video 360 work with reputable third-party vendors or marketing analytics firms like Geopath that use industry accepted measurements.
- Google doesn't get any user-specific measurement data from suppliers. Only aggregated impression multipliers on a per screen basis to relay the success of the campaign to buyers.
- Display & Video 360 performs extensive exchange and publisher checks to maintain a high standard for publisher impression methodology but is not responsible for and doesn't perform any measurement directly.
- Display & Video 360 suppliers are subject to legal and policy-based obligations to abide by all local laws for creative placement and user consent for measurement if applicable.
- Make sure to work directly with the supplier to understand their measurement methodology and deal terms before executing your DOOH inventory.
Advertisers are advised to seek third-party data sources and verification services for DOOH.
- The multiplier factor is an estimation, from the publisher, on the viewer foot traffic volume.
- The ad creative delivery event is reported by the publisher. Traditional impression measurement on user devices is not applicable to DOOH.
Frequently asked questions
Why can't I see any spend?
Confirm the following:
- It has been at least 24 hours since set up. Ramp up time may be delayed and take up to 24 hours to see delivery.
- The correct creative duration is targeted. For example, the creatives targeted are 15-second videos and the creatives in the line item are also 15 seconds.
- The creative has not been changed mid flight.
- The creative is approved and not tagged with sensitive categories labels. If rejected, it will not serve.
- Check with the supplier to see if they are seeing bid responses.